



## ABORIGINAL LAND COUNCIL OF TASMANIA 2012 ELECTION

The *Aboriginal Lands Act 1995* provides for the election of members of the Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania.

These elections are to be conducted by the Electoral Commissioner.

The Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania comprises 8 committee members, each elected for a 3 year term, representing 5 electoral areas –

South region (2) North region (2) Cape Barren Island group (1)

North-West region (2) Flinders Island group (1)

## Nominations invited

To stand as a representative for an electoral area, a person must be enrolled for an address in that electoral area. This notice and a nomination form for the appropriate electoral area have been posted to each person enrolled. The Aboriginal Land Council Electors Roll includes those people who were enrolled at the 2009 elections and those who applied for enrolment in 2011 and whose names were transferred to the Electors Roll.

Nominations must be lodged, posted, or faxed so as to be received by the Electoral Commissioner at the Tasmanian Electoral Commission, **before 12 noon on Friday 18 May 2012.** 

As part of the nomination form candidates are invited to provide a statement of up to 150 words to accompany the ballot papers sent to electors.

## The election timetable

Nominations open Saturday 10 March 2012
Close of nominations 12 noon Friday 18 May 2012
Ballot papers posted to electors Monday 28 May 2012
Close of ballot & counting of votes 10 am Tuesday 19 June 2012

If you would like more information on the election please contact the Tasmanian Electoral Commission (Freecall 1 800 801 701)

Julian Type ELECTORAL COMMISSIONER 10 March 2012
Level 2 Telstra Centre 70 Collins Street
GPO Box 300 HOBART TAS 7001
Freecall 1800 801 701 Phone 6233 2000 Fax 6224 0217
www.tec.tas.gov.au ballot.box@tec.tas.gov.au